Facebook Twitter

Nicholas Garcia

Denver school board approves enrollment zone for northeast middle schools

The Denver school board Thursday night unanimously approved a new enrollment zone for middle schools in the northeast part of the city.

Traditional middle school boundaries will no longer exist in the neighborhoods of Five Points, Elyria Swansea, Cole, Whittier, Clayton, Skyland, City Park West and Globeville. Instead, students will be guaranteed a spot at one of five schools in the zone but not necessarily at their first choice.

If a student doesn’t choose, he or she will be assigned to one of the schools in the zone. Those schools are Bruce Randolph Middle School, Whittier K-8, Wyatt Academy K-8, DSST Cole and a new middle school based on the popular McAuliffe International School.

Under a district proposal, that school would be housed with the original McAuliffe in Park Hill next year and at Manual High School in Whittier starting in the fall of 2017.

For more on why DPS created the zone and how it will work, read our previous story.

The Latest
In Fowler, a tiny town in the southeastern Colorado plains, higher education has become a way of life. Its high school sends most of its students to college.
Eddie Taylor commemorated the climb in an Instagram post: “We did it yall! The Expedition was a success.”
The united front suggests Colorado will face an uphill battle in its efforts to force change on the Adams 14 community.
Colorado’s Adams 14 school district was ordered to start a reorganization process, which begins with forming a committee.
As connections withered, our school became every school — the faceless bureaucracy people complain about on social media and in the news.
Chris Gibbons’ departure comes as Denver charter schools are challenged by declining enrollment and shifting political winds. He acknowledged that dynamic in a letter to families.